Login   Sign Up 

• Enticing locations
    by FunkyPenguin at 20:24 on 23 July 2013
    First of all, a big hello to everyone reading this as I've just become a full member of the site.

I'm fairly new at fiction writing and one of the main issues I'm having is describing the locations used in my story in a fresh and exciting way.

My story plays out sort of like a zombie movie (except instead of zombies they are killer vegetables) with my main character constantly on the move in order to avoid being eaten. My characters move from a school, to a town hall, to a hospital, to a warehouse and I'm struggling to introduce each new location in a unique way. I don't want to just be giving perfunctory descriptions of what each place looks like.

Initially I drew upon the main character's past experiences of these locations to add a bit of flavour. For example the town hall used to give him the creeps because there were huge stone lions guarding the entranceway. However, this has become somewhat of a crutch and my mind will no longer offer alternative approaches to the problem!
  • Re: Enticing locations
    by Account Closed at 20:39 on 23 July 2013
    Hi FunkyPenguin

Welcome to WW. Killer vegetables. Well, that's definitely a new one.

Initially I drew upon the main character's past experiences of these locations to add a bit of flavour.

LOL. Love the pun.

I'm looking forward to seeing your work in the groups - if you choose to upload, as not everyone joins WW to critique. If you want technical information, there is plenty of that available on here too.

Edited by Sharley at 20:40:00 on 23 July 2013
    by FunkyPenguin at 21:01 on 23 July 2013
    I would love to say that pun was intentional

I have recently uploaded the opening two scenes of my work, although as I'm still fairy new at this I'm not sure whereabouts they have been placed! I'm also currently browsing through the groups to see which would be most suitable for me.