Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Poetry Reading - Any Tips?
    by Al T at 20:23 on 24 June 2004
    Hi guys, I wondered if any of you more experienced folk had any tips on reading poetry aloud in front of an audience. I've never done that before, but may be doing it soon (if I can pluck up the courage). The poem in question is short and humorous.

Thanks in advance,

Adele.

P.S. Yes, I am watching the match, but with my laptop on my knee. Go Engerland!!!
  • Re: Poetry Reading - Any Tips?
    by Silverelli at 20:40 on 24 June 2004
    Watch any episode of Russel Simmon's Def Poetry Jam. It'll show you the way it should be done.
    by Al T at 20:43 on 24 June 2004
    Thanks Adam, but I'm afraid I've never heard of him. I don't think he's made it over the Pond yet.
    by Silverelli at 20:45 on 24 June 2004
    I work with a guy who has a couple published books poetry and has been a national finalist a bunch of times in competition and I showed him my advice. He says I'm wrong. He says just go up there and read what you wrote.
    by Al T at 20:46 on 24 June 2004
    He says just go up there and read what you wrote.

Any chance of any elaboration there?
    by Silverelli at 20:50 on 24 June 2004
    He says you have read it like you believe it. You have to come across as caring.
    If it's a sad poem, read it sadly.
    If it's a sexy poem, read it like your horny.
    If it's an angry poem, read it with anger.

Any help?
    by Al T at 20:53 on 24 June 2004
    Yes, thanks Adam - I like the new leaf

Any other tips would also be most welcome. I know that several WW members have lots of experience in this area.
    by olebut at 21:11 on 24 June 2004
    Adele

If you are going to read it ensure that the page / book or whatever is in front of you and slightly to one side so you are looking at your audience and not obvioulsy down at the page but equally dont hold the book in front of your face.that will put the audienc eoff and make you sound muffled