Login   Sign Up 

This 49 message thread spans 4 pages: 1  2   3   4  > >  
  • How hard do you work?
    by Traveller at 21:53 on 18 May 2004
    Hi everyone. I read an interview recently with Jeannette Winterson where she claimed to work in intervals of 16 hours non-stop! Does anyone else have this kind of working schedule? Is it possible??? (just wondering whether I'm being lazy with my three hours a day!)
  • Re: How hard do you work?
    by Al T at 21:57 on 18 May 2004
    Hi Traveller, I think that your three hours writing a day on top of a demanding full time job is pretty impressive. I've never written for more than six hours in a day - any more than that and I think my brain would ignite!

Adele.
    by Anna Reynolds at 22:11 on 18 May 2004
    I've been writing for the last fifteen years (full time) and have got to the point where I can write- as in create, not tinker, edit, etc, but the first draft writing- for about ten hours a day if everything else is relatively calm- ie. not moving house or having other things that are major distractions. But this might be because I always have about 4 projects/commissions on the go at any one time- we poor playwrights, you see, have to. You have to build up to it- about ten years ago, I'd write for an hour and feel like I needed a break. Some very well known writers write for a couple of hours a day and the rest is thinking or contemplation time; horses for courses.
    by Account Closed at 22:34 on 18 May 2004
    Anna, I am also the same. I lose myself in a story and it just sweeps time away. At other times, I can barely be assed to lift my fingers to the keyboard, but I try to write at least 3000 words a week. If I fall below this limit, I feel like I'm wasting time as I feel I have a lot of ideas and a lot of stories to tell.

JB x

<Added>