Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• questions about short story comps in magazines
    by fluffyheliumflash at 10:44 on 27 February 2004
    having never entered any writing competitions before, i am planning to submit an entry to a short story competition in a magazine.

the rules state that:

> you agree to the publication of your short story in the magazine. there will be no payment for publication of your story and the magazine reserves the right to edit the short story as we see fit.

my questions are these:

1) if i submit several entries am i liable to be disqualified? there is nothing in the rules about only one submission per contestant.

2) whether my stories win or not, having submitted them into the competition will the magazine automatically get copyright of them?

3) could the magazine use them at future dates without paying me, even if i were not the winner?

any help gratefully received because i am a complete newbie in this area and do not know what i am dealing with. thanks in advance.
  • Re: questions about short story comps in magazines
    by Account Closed at 11:14 on 27 February 2004
    1) Unless they stipulate that only one entry is allowed per person, then no.

2) No.

3) Not without your permission I think.
    by Anna Reynolds at 13:14 on 27 February 2004
    Might sound obvious, but if possible, always ring/email/write and check about things like multiple submissions. And if your instinct tells you to hold back, then do- there are loads and loads of short story comps around, and more coming along all the time, so if you don't enter one, there will, like buses, be another one along shortly. But it is a good idea to always read the rules carefully, because new writers can get caught out. And always make a list of what you've sent out, when and who to, so you can chase.
    by fluffyheliumflash at 13:37 on 27 February 2004
    hi insane bartender,

cheers for that :-)