Login   Sign Up 

• The Business Rusch: fascinating blog on changes in the publishing industy
    by Toast at 14:28 on 19 July 2012
    I just came across this:

http://kriswrites.com/business-rusch-publishing-articles/the-business-rusch-publishing-series/

which I'm finding a fascinating intro into some aspects of the publishing industry that I haven't come across so far (but I'm a newbie so I probably haven't come across most of it) but particularly, some unexpected and interesting stuff on the self-publishing of ebooks and its impact on the industry as a whole, including what it means for writers and particularly the midlist.

It has some very interesting stuff on scams that are starting up as people move in to try to exploit authors who are self-publishing and not used to dealing with aspects of the business other than writing.

I thought this was of wider interest than just the self-publishing group so thought I'd bung it on the forum.
  • Re: The Business Rusch: fascinating blog on changes in the publishing industy
    by Terry Edge at 15:17 on 19 July 2012
    I've often said on here that Kris Rusch is someone worth taking seriously. She's always operated from a strong sense that you have to be responsible for your own career. She and her husband, Dean, often get knocked for bashing at writers' tendency to want to be looked after, of relying on agents, and so on. But for me most of what they say makes a good deal of sense, and bears out my experiences with publishing (even if I wasn't aware of it at the time).

If there's any way you can ever get to one of Kris's workshops in Oregon, you won't regret it. It will move you forwards in huge leaps, both in terms of craft and getting your business head together.
    by Toast at 16:48 on 19 July 2012
    Thanks, Terry. I could do with being moved forward in huge leaps at the moment.