Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Names and pen-names
    by debac at 18:03 on 25 May 2012
    My name is Debbie Clarke, but because I think that's really unmemorable, I would like to be published as Debbie Ash-Clarke. This is only a small deviation from my real name, and incorporates the "ash" from the village of my birth, "Cold Ash".

I am about to submit covering letters, synopses and chapters for one-to-one appointments with editors, agents and authors at Winchester Writers' Conference. I am only beginning my second draft and have requested the one-to-ones for practise, to motivate me to get on with it all (and it has, so far, been extremely motivating), and because it's included in the price!

So I'm not exactly expecting to be snapped up (I imagine that's extremely rare), but I do want to try to get most things right, of course.

So, on which documents should I put my real name, and on which documents should I put my pen name? I do emphasise that my pen name is just a variation on my real name, so different from having a completely unrelated pen name.

I have booked the conf as Debbie Clarke but want to put Debbie Ash-Clarke on all the materials I am submitting. Is that wrong, do you think?

Also, for people who have been to such one-to-ones before, are they really expecting to behave like a writing tutor and just give you some feedback, or are they going to be scary and act as if you have approached them through normal channels, in which case of course they would expect that you have already completely finished and polished your novel?

Eeeek!

Thanks for any comments.

Deb
  • Re: Names and pen-names
    by Terry Edge at 18:48 on 25 May 2012