Login   Sign Up 

This 20 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • How many agencies?
    by FictionFan at 15:23 on 10 May 2012
    So, I am going to be sending of my MS for submission. This is my first time doing so and I was wondering; how many agencies do people query before biting the sad bullet and retiring their work as unpublished?

Also, does it matter if the agency is not in my geographical region? I really want to submit to agencies I like and not just ones in and around me; how much does this matter?

Thanks

• Re: How many agencies?
    by Terry Edge at 15:42 on 10 May 2012
    Why not try publishers first, or at the same time as? Getting an agent should essentially be a secondary task, after receiving an offer from a publisher. Going to agents without such an offer is always a tough task, especially since (obvious though it is) an agent is not the person who can make you an offer for publication.

Terry

<Added>

I know agents have set themselves up as gatekeepers (although that role is being seriously eroded with the rise of self-publishing) but I do find it sad, if not a bit crazy, that an author would see his book as unpublished when no publisher has actually had the chance to see it.
    by FictionFan at 15:50 on 10 May 2012
    Thanks for the advice. I was always (for some reason) under the impression that you were best to snag an agent and let them go about trying to get you published. I have never written a full length novel before, so this is my first crack, as it were. Are publishers likely to take on a writer without an agent?
    by Freebird at 15:58 on 10 May 2012
    the advantage of an agent is that they know which editors are looking for what, and may give your ms more attention because they know it's going to be of a publishable standard if it's come through a publisher.