Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Titles
    by tatterdemalion at 17:02 on 03 April 2014
    I just ran a possible title through Google and it turned up a blog and a restaurant of the same name. The story concerns neither a blog nor a restaurant, but the title is distinctive so - apart from the disappointment of not getting there first - I just wondered if it matters. Thanks.
  • Re: Titles
    by Catkin at 23:38 on 03 April 2014
    There is no copyright in titles, but I don't know how it works with business names. If it is a problem, I can't imagine that a restaurant would come after you about it.
    Edited by Catkin at 23:45:00 on 03 April 2014
    by EmmaD at 01:06 on 04 April 2014
    I think - but I'm not a lawyer - that the issue would be if either the restaurant or the blog had trademarked their name. Trademarks are a very different kind of intellectual property - and I guess the restaurant might have.

Having said that, I think that trademark law is a bit limited, in that if you're not in the least trying to pass off your product as related to them, there's not a lot they can do. And clearly, you're not.

Frankly, though, I wouldn't worry too much. And/or The Society of Authors might be able to help,
    by tatterdemalion at 15:19 on 04 April 2014
    Thanks, people. I wonder what, for instance, TW's estate would do if someone opened a restaurant called The Glass Menagerie? 
    by EmmaD at 15:29 on 04 April 2014
    I don't think they could do anything - no copyright in a title.
    by tatterdemalion at 17:33 on 04 April 2014
    No, we've established that. I was thinking more abstractly, I suppose. Would not could.
    by EmmaD at 22:06 on 04 April 2014
    Yes, it's an interesting thought.

They could fume, I suppose. ;)

Actually, I don't suppose they'd care, or perhaps even know. The worry would be if someone put on a play called The Glass Menagerie. Though you'd be silly if you did, I guess.