Login   Sign Up 

This 23 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Permissions
    by Lola Dane at 21:28 on 17 January 2007
    Not sure if I'm the right place to ask this,
    I've just had to request permissions from two different music publishers to quote lyrics from songs in my book.

Anyone know how much this is likely to sting me in financial terms?
  • Re: Permissions
    by EmmaD at 21:37 on 17 January 2007
    I gather it's completely unpredicable, because it's wholly up to them, but some companies are notorious for asking a lot of money. Are you contractually obliged to pay any or all of it, or should your publisher be chipping in?

Emma
    by Account Closed at 22:56 on 17 January 2007
    Look into a legal matter known as fair usage. Sometimes, you are allowed to use a certain portion of a song gratis and free of charge if the usage isn't derogatory to the artist and the artist is credited. Check this out professionally though, as I am not a lawyer, thank God.

Alternatively, you can try the brass balls route, which is the one I favour. Ask, and let them know how good it is for them too. Who wouldn't want to be included in a literary work? But as Emma says, the results are variable. I've said this before, but Ricki Lake's agent at Sony wanted $500 for the use of just one quoted sentence from her show in my novel Unrequited. I told Ricki to get stuffed. However, my correspondence with Marilyn Manson, Canadian poet James Reaney and the estate of Tennessee Williams has all yeilded written permissions without cost.

Maybe I'm lucky, but I'm just saying don't let the ones who ask for money - money that they don't really need - put you off.

JB

by EmmaD at 06:35 on 18 January 2007