Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Greetings
    by writersblock at 20:35 on 01 August 2003
    Hi,
    I'm very pleased to have found this interesting and comprehensive writing forum.
    I'm a complete novice and have written very little since my 600 word essay writing days back in the late fifties/early sixties (God I must be old).
    I've been itching to write - more for pleasure than anything else - for a number of years now. My main interest is fantasy/horror, that sort of thing - I love a good ghost story. I read a lot of Stephen King, whom I greatly admire, and also James Herbert (despite his morbid fascination with rats!).
    I work for a night air cargo company and so, for practice, I've started to write a short story which is aviation related; it's much more difficult than I ever imagined. Anyway, how short is a 'short' story? I've already written over 3000 words and I'm not yet finished. I think this piece may need some serious editing; Stephen King reckons the first rewrite should be at least 10% smaller.
    The way I write is this: I start with a germ of an idea and begin writing, not really knowing quite how things will develop. That's it - not very scientific I know.
    Hope to upload this work - if I can think of an ending that is - sometime in the not too distant.

Many regards,
    writersblock

• Re: Greetings
    by Nell at 21:32 on 01 August 2003
    Hi writersblock, and welcome! A short story is generally reckoned to be between 1,000 and 8,000 words long, although most are around 2,000 - 3,000.

It's good sense if you haven't done much writing for a while to start your story in a setting you're familiar with, and don't worry too much about that ending - it'll turn up, they always do!
    by Account Closed at 21:48 on 01 August 2003
    Short stories, like any story, are as long as they need to be to tell the story. Unless of course you're writing to a limit for a competition or something (;

But anyway, welcome!