Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 28 message thread spans 2 pages:  < <   1  2 > >  
  • Re: Finding Your Feet
    by NMott at 18:34 on 10 January 2014

Perhaps hijacking the wrong thread and not for the first time but I'm relatively new to writewords but not new to writing or critiquing, but still haven't got my head round groups versus forums (fora). I joined two groups but, in contrast to the fora, they've not been terribly active and I'm curious really at what proportion of members actually take part in groups. I know critiquing is very time consuming but it seems people put a lot of thought and energy into the discussion threads, so it can't just be that. I'm wondering if a lot of members don't really use the site for feedback on their work and have other outlets for that?
    Or just tell me if I've got it all wrong?
    Good luck with the new group, anyway

It all depends on the group and the group host. If its members don't feel the need for it after an initial flurry of uploads and critiques, &/or If the group host isn't very active, then the group tends to whither away, which is why it's worth joining several in the hopes of finding one that's as active as you need it to be.
    by NMott at 18:45 on 10 January 2014
    One important thing for the writer is to get a concensus of opinion from the crits before making any changes, so it's perfectly ok for the critter to read other crits and make the same points in your own crit - don't just think 'oh, that's been said already, so I don't need to mention it'. That will also help you reach the 100 word minimum.

However, try to avoid critting the other crits. You are critting the work not other critiques.
    by AlanH at 23:56 on 10 January 2014

If its members don't feel the need for it after an initial flurry of uploads and critiques

Some groups don't even get the initial flurry. People join and then do nothing within the group. I don't know why - I suppose they have their reasons.