Login   Sign Up 

This 16 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • hello I`m new
    by Jaytee Conner at 14:34 on 13 May 2013
    I've been lurking as a guest for a while but have just paid up the full membership, so here I am.

I'm in the middle of the 2nd draft of my 4th novel.
    I write women's contemporary fiction and am a huge admirer of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, anything by Maggie O'Farrell, or Hilary Mantel.

I'm a TV Series Producer/Director and I've been writing for years mainly proposals, shooting scripts, commentary scripts. I've got years of bashing away in edit suites pulling progammes together so I'm no stranger to the re-edit or getting pages of notes/requests/demands from executives and anybody else up the broadcasting chain who wants to stick their oar in.

Novel writing feels very quiet and calm in comparison.

I will upload elements of my 2nd novel The Space Between when I get a moment. It's gone through a 2nd draft but is a bit of a Moby Dick book (not long) but tough to wrangle. I foresee many more re-drafts before I get it right.

So that's me.
    Best
    Jaytee
  • Re: hello I`m new
    by EmmaD at 15:16 on 13 May 2013
    Hi Jaytee, and welcome to WW

Sounds like you've got some fantastic experience there - although, yes, novels are a different kettle of fish, I guess. Very much flying solo...

If you're a Mantel fan, you'll find friends (and - um - less friends?) on WW. And if you get stuck, just post a cry for help in the forum.

Emma
    by Jaytee Conner at 15:31 on 13 May 2013
    Thanks Emma

Your website has been very helpful to me. Over there I've been bravely using my real name Annette but lately getting a bit panicky about identity theft etc.

Yes TV writing is very different but I'm really enjoying the transition to novels though have to resist the urge to share unfinished work which is normal in telly but proving to be very counter productive with books.
    by Account Closed at 19:45 on 13 May 2013
    Hi