Login   Sign Up 

This 16 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Hello community!
    by Rantmuse at 07:20 on 07 April 2013
    Hi everyone.
    I signed up for a year last week and have joined the children's fiction group as well as putting my name down for a screenwriting group which is yet to have enough members to go live. Hope that happens soon as screenwriting is my passion. I have been writing on and off all my life. Although I enjoy writing - in fact I need to write I have never really had the confidence to stand up and be a writer or say I am a writer before. I am at a stage in my life now where it is simply a case of chase that dream or regret it forever. I don't come from an educated background and this has really stopped me from progressing, as in not beleiving in my writing. My grammer and puncuation are shocking and I have mild dyslexia so quite often I don't recgonise mistakes that seem obvious to others. I get bogged down thinking about third person and first person and alot of the technical side of writing and I think sometimes this knocks my confidence and stops me from writing for periods of time. Anyway, I've kinda gotten over that, or trying anyway!
    To date I have written a radio play which I entered into the BBC Heartlands competition, it didn't get anywhere but it was a big step for me sending work out. I have uploaded it on here and straight away saw loads of mistakes! I have just finished my first childrens book which I will upload next. I have also just entered another script into the BBC for the scriptroom new year call. As yet heard nothing, not even a 'we got your script' email. Not that I am nervous or anything! The last stript is I feel my best work to date and once I am allowed to upload it I would really love feedback if anyone gets the time to look at it.