Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• New Short Story Magazine
    by NMP at 22:27 on 04 November 2012
    Hello!

I'm a newbie to this forum. I wasn't sure where to write this message so thought either the Newcomers board would work, or someone might tell me where it would be better suited.

I'm part of a group of people who love reading, and we are creating a new online magazine of short stories, called New Mercury Press.

It will contain short stories and flash fiction that can cover many genres: from steampunk to sci-fi, and murder mystery to parody, anything that will take the reader to a faraway place.

We're looking for submissions of short stories for our first issue and would love to read yours.

If you’d like to submit, or just find out more, please visit http://newmercurypress.com or email questions@newmercurypress.com and we’d be happy to answer any of your questions!

We just want to share the great stories that are out there and make a fun magazine to read over coffee, in the bath, or just before bed.

Thanks!

Amy
  • Re: New Short Story Magazine
    by Account Closed at 09:06 on 05 November 2012
    Thanks for posting this. I wouldn't be interested in submitting stories without payment, but others may be. However, this interested me:

You will keep the full copyright to your story but as soon as you submit it, you are giving us permission to be the sole publisher of that story.

That seems a bit tough considering there is no payment, or am I misinterpreting this?
    by Terry Edge at 11:13 on 05 November 2012
    I agree. If you actually mean you will be the sole publisher of a short story, that's very much against normal practice.
    by Terry Edge at 15:06 on 05 November 2012
    I've just had a quick look at your Q&As. I think this needs to be made clearer:

We also ask that your submission hasn’t been published or sent for consideration to any other publication.