Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 25 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Should I sign up?
    by AdaB at 18:26 on 21 August 2012
    OK, so I'm not really expecting anyone to say 'No, don't sign up!', but I was interested to read people's opinions on the usefulness of the site. I was slightly miffed to discover I couldn't join more than one forum as a trial member, as I wanted to give the site a proper try out before paying-out.

My situation is that I'm a mother of three teens, in my forties and unable to work due to caring responsibilities. I've always written, since childhood, and have had quite a bit of non-fiction stuff published. But my true passion is science-fiction and I'd love to be able to write my own sci-fi novel.

I have started a library full of novels (not all sci-fi) but always run out of steam, basically due to my love of complex plots that get a little too complicated. Then I studied a part-time degree in politics and put my fiction on hold for a few years.

I did a short creative writing course last year and discovered to my horror that I can actually write stuff I make-up (who knew?). So now, having recovered from the strains of constant studying, I've committed to actually finishing a novel - forget getting it published, or even getting beyond the first draft, I just want 70-90,000 words that makes some sort of sense!

I've written one chapter (3.5k words), but now I'm thinking I need to expand it to maybe three chapters. My problem is not the writing itself, or the characters - its the plotting.

Fundamentally, I know how it starts, I have many ideas of sense that are going to happen, but events have to happen in the right order and that's the problem. So for instance, scene A has to happen before scene B, which has to happen before scene C, but then I realise I need scene D, which has to happen between scenes A and B, but with information from C, which hasn't happened yet! It's a bit like knitting after a kitten's been at it.