Login   Sign Up 

• Hi, just signed up for a year!
    by Jennifer1976 at 15:27 on 02 August 2012
    Hi, I am new to all of this – just signed up for a year’s membership of the communities and would like to introduce myself.

I live in Yorkshire with my partner and our little boy and so finding time to write is very hard. I have set myself the aim of writing ten pages a month of my first draft of a memoir based on my life as a young adult, and am just about managing to meet my target – 70 pages now! It was my new year’s resolution. I don’t normally set them because I can’t keep them, but after pretty much ten years of writer’s block, I decided that I had to bite the bullet and begin writing.

I started re-working some old writing of mine from some old diaries and began reading Julia Cameron and Natalie Goldberg, before moving onto some more directed books, like the OU set book for their Level 2 creative writing course and a couple that are linked to the UEA course. I would really love to do an MA in creative writing one day, but it’s not feasible at the moment – that’s something to aim for. I was really disappointed recently to find out that an online Starting Fiction course that I was going to do had tripled the fees – over £700 for a 3 month course!

I don’t have anybody that I can share my writing experiences with and I’d really like to meet people with whom I can discuss the writing process with and perhaps get a little bit of feedback.

I am reluctant to post any work on here for critique, partly because it is autobiographical and I am not sure of the legal aspect, and partly – mostly really – because I am not confident enough about my writing to share it online for critique. How do you get past that first hurdle?

Also, what is the best way to get the most out of my membership? I’m really looking for writing buddies with whom I can share the highs and lows of the writing life.

Thanks and hope to hear from some of you soon. X