Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Question for fiction writers
    by DanJacobs at 11:00 on 29 July 2012
    Hello all,

I'm a newbie here and just looking for a bit of advice.

I've written a novel aimed at teenagers, written in the first person. It's a little over 91000 words and I'm in the middle of editing the first re-write.

I'm also at the 20000 word mark of my new novel which is great fun as it has scenes set all around the world.

As far as I understand, and from what I've read from other novels, is that new paragraphs are indented apart from the first after each new chapter. A blank line is needed for a time change or scene change.

I think I'm right in saying that if a person speaks it is followed within the sentence, however, if another person speaks, then that is indented. Then when each different person speaks it's indented - so all talking is indented except for the first person to speak within a paragraph.
    Is that right?

I really appreciate any help as it had to be 100% correct before any promotional work is done.

Many thanks for your time

Dan
  • Re: Question for fiction writers
    by EmmaD at 12:09 on 29 July 2012
    Hi Dan, and welcome to WW

As far as I understand, and from what I've read from other novels, is that new paragraphs are indented apart from the first after each new chapter.

This is right, and you also don't indent the first paragraph after a double-line space, or an asterisk, say: anything that's indicating a larger break than a paragraph, but a smaller break than a chapter.

A blank line is needed for a time change or scene change.

Depends how you're writing the break in time or space. It's a useful device to mark a stop-and-start-again, but you'd be daft to leave a gap if you were writing something like this: