Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Hello.......
    by Santana at 12:25 on 19 January 2008
    Hi everybody, just thought I would join the throng and hope that some of your brilliance rubs off on me. I am an artist, but have just written a childrens book set in 1902 - around a series of paintings which I did about the adventures of a white dog. The dog was stolen one day, and during his subsequent adventures he made friends with (and chatted with) several animals, ( two cats, a mouse and a police horse)etc, etc.then it has a happy ending. I have sent it off to several Agents who have all 'rejected' it, but some have advised me to persevere, so I am going to do just that. I am now approaching Publishers direct (those that one can) so I live in hope. I had intended (in fact I have written the first three chapters) of a sequel. I was told that one should never write a 'sequel' to a story - is that good advice or not?
  • Re: Hello.......
    by NMott at 12:39 on 19 January 2008
    Welcome to Write Words, Santana.
    I have no problems with sequels, especially in fantasy childrens and other genre books, eg. crime, where they are de rigeur, if the shelves in Waterstones are anything to go by. Persoanlly I see it as good training for a writer. In bk.1 You have the characters and their world set up and in Bk.2 can concentrate on developing their personalities and antics. You might find that after bk.2 or even Bk.3, you could combine the stories into a much stronger book.
    All best with it. Hope to see your work on the Group forums at some point.

- NaomiM
    by Dee at 13:46 on 19 January 2008
    Welcome, Santana... there's a name to live up to!

There are plenty of excellent children's writers on here, so you're in the right place if you need help and feedback. You'll pick up a lot, too, if you read and comment on the work of other members.

Dee
    by Santana at 17:19 on 19 January 2008
    Many thanks, folks. It is very refreshing to have encouragement - and hope !