Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 24 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Introducing myself and three questions
    by Raziel_uk at 16:53 on 03 January 2008
    Hi all

Just joined as a trial member to see how it goes. Trying to write my first story, but am struggling. I also have three questions:

1/ Are there ever any really successful (I don't just mean financially, just that "work") writing partnerships?

You see I have trouble in that I have lots of ideas but it's the getting them down on paper. I'm not very good at handwriting as my hand ends up hurting (I hold the pen/pencil too tightly). My job is typing for most of the day, so to then go home and the thought of going home and typing more in an evening or weekend just doesn't exactly thrill me. But on the other hand, I don't think I could dictate.

So I was wondering are there any teams out there where someone comes up with the ideas and the other one gets them down on the paper?

2/ Do you think there is any truth in the saying "Everyone has a novel inside them?"?

I have a client who says this is a stupid phrase, after all it's not something that's applied to any other creative process. How many people have you heard say "I think I've got a Chippendale Chair in me."?

3/ Is writing something that can be learnt or are you born with it?

I've tried several creative processes: watercolour painting, drawing and photography and I now know there's no point me buying an easel, expensive drawing paper or a top of the range camera!

So is writing any different?

Any thoughts, advice, help, etc., gratefully appreciated.

• Re: Introducing myself and three questions
    by susieangela at 17:51 on 03 January 2008
    Hi Raziel, and welcome!
    Well, your questions aren't easy ones to answer and I reckon you'll get many very different responses, but will put in my two penny worth:
    1/ Are there ever any really successful (I don't just mean financially, just that "work") writing partnerships?