Login   Sign Up 

This 22 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Do you think that publishers acceptances take longer than rejections
    by Yellow hair at 12:05 on 23 November 2007
    This is my situation and it is sending me a bit mad.
    I have a well respected agent and this is my second book. I am a journalist and make a living for my family but am not very high powered.
    My second novel with the same agent and the first got rejected by everyone - in the end I sort of understood because I didn't think it was that great. I had rewritten it so many times I didn't know what I had written in the end.
    This one I feel quite proud of though ... and the agent has high hopes. She has sent it to sixteen publishers- does that seem loads? Six have turned it down. They seem to be the biggest ones - I don't blame her for wanting to make some money out of me after all this time.
    I suppose I would love to hear from anyone who has had a simular situation...Stop me going mad
  • Re: Do you think that publishers acceptances take longer than rejections
    by Dee at 17:43 on 23 November 2007
    Hello Sophie, and welcome to WW

I think the answer to your question depends on the size of the publisher. Small independents can often make a decision pretty quickly (but, there again, it depends on how you define ‘quickly’). With the larger ones, you have several possibilities – it’s sitting in a slush pile (unlikely, as you have an agent), they are so overwhelmed they also have an agented slush pile, or someone likes it and has passed it on to the next stage in the chain. This can take months. How long is it since your agent submitted it?

Incidentally, if you need any help finding your way around the site, just give me or Nik a shout, or post a question in whatever forum you think most appropriate.

Dee
    by EmmaD at 20:18 on 23 November 2007
    Hi, Sophie, and welcome to WW.