Login   Sign Up 

• New Member - Looking for `real` benefits of membership
    by taff at 20:00 on 27 August 2007
    I am a new member and have just signed up for the free one month trial.
    I am conteplating whether the full membership is worth the, relatively high, asking price of £35 per annum. Who better to turn to than the members themselves.

I am a PoD published author with two young adult fantasy novels to my name and sales in excess of 600 books in the past 18 months. I am very active on the promotion front and attend various book shops for signings, craft fairs and lit fests to promote my work.

What benefits do YOU think I would receive from becoming a full WW member?
    I can obviously evaluate some over the coming month, but as you know, not all areas are open to me unless I become a full member.

Looking forward to any advice received and thanks for bearing with me (as I'm sure this has been asked a few times before).

Taff
  • Re: New Member - Looking for `real` benefits of membership
    by Lammi at 20:37 on 27 August 2007
    A tricky question because only you are fully conversant with your position as a writer; only you really know what you want out of a site.

All I can tell you is what I personally get out of Write Words, speaking as a moderately established author from a mainstream publishing house.

I get to debate all kinds of aspects of craft, which is something that helps my development as a writer. I get to ask technical questions, and questions about the publishing industry, and about writing protocol, and when I ask I have the choice of appealing publicly to everyone here, or to a small group, or privately to an individual. I've been in receipt of some excellent advice during the time I've been a member.

I get to network, and to make writing friends. I get support and I have the chance to engage in banter, which is important for me now I work from home and see no one but the Betterware man from dawn till dusk.