Login   Sign Up 

• Hello out there!
    by SOOTYSMUM at 00:50 on 28 February 2007
    I'm new to writing, infact, I've just posted my first ever poem on this site! I wondered if anyone could recommend a good book to act as a guide to the pitfalls/hints and tips etc. for writing? I'm cutting my teeth so to speak on poetry, got a short story which needs polishing, but would eventually like to submit to magazines, publishers etc. Any comments/thoughts/suggestions anyone?
  • Re: Hello out there!
    by Lammi at 08:25 on 28 February 2007
    Can you give us more of an idea of the sort of genre/area you're interested in? My advice would be to read lots of good published authors in the same field rather than 'how to write' books - it'll certainly be a more pleasurable experience and I would argue a more effective way of learning about writing.

And welcome to WW!
    by EmmaD at 08:43 on 28 February 2007
    Welcome to WW, Sootysmum.

I'd agree with Lammi that the most important thing is to read vast amounts, both of the kind of thing you're trying to write, and more widely.

But I think it can be helpful to have some ideas of ways to get going with a piece. You could have a look at The Creative Writing Coursebook, which is edited by Julia Bell and Paul Magrs. And I know that Linda Anderson's Creative Writing has been well-spoken of on WW.

The best way to get consistent feedback on your work, by the way, is to join a group or groups. You learn an enormous amount by reading others' work and commenting on it in that context, as well as getting feeback on your own.

Emma
    by SOOTYSMUM at 09:55 on 28 February 2007
    Hello Lammi ad EmmaD,