Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

This 27 message thread spans 2 pages: 1  2  > >  
  • Please can you help....?
    by AWriter at 11:13 on 21 January 2007
    Hello everyone,
    I am a newcomer to this site and would like your help if possible. I am currently studying for a MA Creative Writing and for my final project I have decided to ask as many writers as possible the following question;

Why do you write?

If you could answer this question for me as part of my research it would be greatfully appreciated.

You can be published or unpublished, add information about yourself if you wish, or just give me a quick one line answer, it's up to you.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and again if you posted me an answer.

Regards
    AWriter

• Re: Please can you help....?
    by Dee at 11:57 on 21 January 2007
    Hello, AW, and welcome. I hope you’ll stick around and let us know how you get on with the course.

Why do I write? Because I can’t not write. It’s that simple. I could say lots of stuff about wanting to convey a message, wanting to entertain people, but basically it’s simple compulsion.

Dee
    by Colin-M at 12:33 on 21 January 2007
    Same here. If someone could tell me for certain that I'd never get published or make a bean, I'd still write, the same way others play guitar, listen to music, watch movies or play sport - it's what I do for me.
    by joanie at 12:38 on 21 January 2007
    Hello, LW; very difficult to say, but it is often therapeutic, always gratifying, and yes.... as Dee, says I can't not do it.

joanie
    by EmmaD at 13:26 on 21 January 2007
    I write because when I do, I feel as if I've come home. In retrospect, I can see that it unites all the elements of my life and personality that don't fit very well together in any other context. But at the time I just feel right.

But now, I also write because I'm under contract. That's a very, very different thing.

Emma

<Added>

And - sorry - welcome to WW!