Login   Sign Up 

Random Read

• Odyssey Fantasy Writing Workshop
    by Terry Edge at 13:07 on 07 March 2007
    Below are some details of the 2007 Odyssey Fantasy Writing Workshop, which I attended last summer. It's not for complete beginners, although you don't have to be published to apply. Only sixteen people are accepted, the quality of your application story being the main criterion. It is, of course, a big commitment, to spend six weeks full-time on a writing course. However, the benefits are tremendous. You work very hard - writing and critiquing virtually non-stop - which improves one's ability far more rapidly than most other courses. This is because you have to work through those subtle but effective displacement systems we all have for avoiding the break-through moments that are actually so essential for an artist bent on being the best they can be. Personally, I found the hard work, tight deadlines, etc, very energising and enjoyable. Around week 5, people tend to come up against their limits, and push on through anyway; which is, in my view, a necessary experience to go through, at least once in your life, if you ever want to write professionally.

Although I've had several books published, and am a freelance editor, I wanted to do the course for two reasons: 1) because I was switching from children's writing to science-fiction, and 2) because I believe one's own writing will always benefit from periodical hot-house critiquing sessions.